Advisory Committee of the PPP

Key Appointment Holders of the Advisory Committee

Ms Betty Tan, PBM (Chairperson)

Ms Betty Tan, PBM (Chairperson)

Ms Betty Tan Beng Now, (PBM) is the Deputy Managing Director of Sin Cheong Containers Mfg Co. Pte Ltd. The organisation is one of the local oldest metal-can manufacturers in Singapore.

She serves in the Packaging Council of Singapore as the Chairperson since 2016 to date and is also the 3rd vice President of the Asian Packaging Federation since 2019 to date.  She was previously serving in the Singapore Packaging Agreement (SPA) Governing Board as the 2nd Deputy Chairperson from 2019 until its cessation in 30 June 2020. She is also active in the grassroots as Chairman of Novena Neighborhood Committee and a member of the Moulmein-Cairnhill and Toa Payoh East-Novena Citizens’ Consultative Committee (CCC 2021).


Mr Matt Kovac (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Matt Kovac (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Matt Kovac is the Executive Director at Food Industry Asia (FIA), the food industry’s first regional industry platform for multinational, regional and local food & beverage companies. He reports to a non-profit board of regional CEOs from multinational food and drink companies, such as Unilever, Coca Cola, PepsiCo, Danone, Kellogg’s, Mars, Mondelez, McDonalds, Nestle etc. 

Mr Kovac manages a team of 15 secretariat staff based in Singapore, is responsible for delivering impactful policy outcomes in nutrition, food safety, sustainable packaging and regional trade across Asia through the establishment of multi-stakeholder platforms and capacity building projects. 
He is active in Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation and sits on the steering committee of the Food Safety Cooperation Forum’s Partnership Training Institute Network, as well as a member of Save The Children’s Corporate Advisory Council in Singapore, a board member of the Global Food Safety Partnership convened by the World Bank, and works with the Asian Development Bank on a number of food safety and trade related products in the Greater Mekong Subregion. 

Originally from the UK, Mr Kovac has spent 16 years in Asia living in China, Taiwan and Singapore. He holds an MBA at the UK’s Lancaster University Management School.


Advisory Committee Members



No Organisation's Name Advisory Representatives Designation
1 Borouge Pte Ltd Mr Richard Horne Vice President-Packaging
2 Coca Cola Singapore Beverage Mr Teoh Eng Lim Head of Procurement
  Coca Cola Singapore Beverage Ms Sharon Tan (Alternate) Public Affairs and Communications
3 Marina Bay Sands (MBS) Mr Kevin Teng Executive Director, Sustainability
4 Procter & Gamble (P&G) Mr John Mulcahy Principal Scientist
5 Tetra Pak South East Asia Pte Ltd Ms Allison Lim Public Affairs Director, Asia-Pacific


Government Agencies

No Organisation's Name Advisory Representatives Designation
6 Enterprise Singapore (ESG) Ms Yeo Meow Ling Director, New Industries
  Enterprise Singapore (ESG) Mr Ng Junrong (Alternate) Senior Development Partner, Circular Economy & Sustainability
7 National Environment Agency (NEA) Mr Desmond Tan Group Director (Resource and Sustainability Group)
  National Environment Agency (NEA) Mr Christopher Tan (Alternate) Director (Sustainability Division)


Trade Associations and Chambers (TACs)

No Organisation's Name Advisory Representatives Designation
8 Food and Beverage Industry Group (FBIG), SMF Ms Lee Gee Chyn Vice-Chairman for Sub-Work Groups (Waste Management, War on Diabetes and Code of Advertising Practice)
9 Global Compact Network Singapore Dr Ryal Wun Deputy Executive Director and Legal Director
  Global Compact Network Singapore Ms Kimberley Kok (Alternate) Assistant Manager (Communications)
10 Lifestyle Industry Group (LIG), SMF Mr Kimming Yap Chairman
11 Medical Technology Industry Group (MTIG), SMF Ms Chia Boon Theng  Co-lead for Workstream (Inter Government Agency engagements)
12 Singapore Food Manufacturers’ Association (SFMA) Mr Casey Chew SFMA EXCO (Director of IT)
13 Singapore Environment Council (SEC) Ms Jen Teo Executive Director
14 Singapore Retail Liquor Shop Association (SRLSA) Mr Rodney Goh President
15 Waste Management & Recycling Association of Singapore (WMRAS) Mr Michael Ho Emeritus Senior Member


Research Institutes

No Organisation's Name Advisory Representatives Designation
16 Food Innovation & Resource Centre (FIRC) Mr David Chai Centre Director


Co-opted Members

No Name
17 Mr Albert Lim
18 Mr Ong Lye Huat